About DRTPC

Historical Background

DRTPC was created through research cooperation that coincided with the era of peace in 1977, responding to the initiative of the late President Anwar Sadat, between Cairo University and Massachusetts Institution of Technology (MIT), USA under its "Technology Development Programme" and sponsored by the USAID in Egypt.

The main objective of this cooperation was the establishment of a common research programme that consisted of 14 national research projects undertaken between Cairo University, MIT and the relevant Egyptian Ministries, aiming at analyzing, planning and managing the immediate development programmes in Egypt at the time. The wider goal was to establish an institutional framework, in the form of a self autonomous independent research Center under the name" "Development Research and Technological Planning Center (DRTPC)", that would take the lead in sustaining this initiative after termination of the above mentioned Programme and projects..

Although DRTPC was only formally founded in 1979, Cairo University/MIT research programme with its 14 projects had already started in 1977 in temporary locations hosted in the Faculty of Engineering, Cairo University. It moved to its present location by the end of 1979, with the formal opening by Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Planning taking place in January 1980.

For the past 30 years, DRTPC has conducted hundreds of research projects, consulting studies and training contracts in the fields of transport planning and engineering, water resources, industry, energy, physical planning, telecommunications, environment, electrical power, public works, economy, management, sociology and public health. The number of contracted research of consulting projects reached about 1050 and the number of training courses reached  almost 525 till the first part of 2015. DRTPC played an instrumental role in the development of national policies and institutional capacity building in these areas. It also organized numerous conferences, seminars, and workshops around these issues. 

The important role that DRTPC assumes in the Egyptian scene since its opening is evident from the number of ministers, distinguished professors and executives from the public and private sectors who figure in its Board of Directors, from the size of its annual contracts which exceeded about 3.5 Million LE in the financial year FY2013-2014, from the large number and diversity of organizations which benefited from its services and finally from its pioneering activities in technology transfer and capacity building to national industries and service sectors.

Mission

To act as a "commercial arm" of Cairo University, utilizing the intellectual property of its academic staff and the scientific capabilities of its numerous resources through contracted applied research, R&D and consulting projects and services, training and capacity building activities, consolidating the role of the University in supporting the country technological and socio-economic development goals.

Objectives

To provide consultation services to government and private sector industry and service agencies contributing to national development.

To conduct contractual applied research projects aiming at the transfer of advanced technologies to industry and service sectors.

To activate the role of Cairo University in the modernization of Egyptian public and private industries and services sectors through the implementation of advanced technological know-how in design, operation, control and management systems.

To provide technical support to small and medium size industries in the form of technical consultations and innovative engineering designs through various specialised streams and technology incubators.

To offer comprehensive continuing education oriented towards the development of human resources in the production and services sectors, from the government, the private sectors, the civil society institutions for levels including top management. 

To organize conferences, seminars and workshops

DRTPC Activity Domains

DRTPC has wide activities in three main domains: Research / Consulting / Training.

DRTPC acts as a national centre of excellence undertaking its activities through contracted projects with an efficient private sector performance and flexible self autonomous management, under the umbrella of Cairo University.

These activities are provided at the international, national, regional and local levels either independently or in collaboration with other national and international research institutions or consulting firms in the form of consortia or subcontracts.

عن المركز

خلفية تاريخية

تم إنشاء مركز استشارات وبحوث التنمية والتخطيط التكنولوجي، جامعة القاهرة من خلال " برنامج التنمية التكنولوجية " للتعاون البحثي بين معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا بالولايات المتحدة وجامعة القاهرة بدعم هيئة المعونة الأمريكية بالقاهرة، كأحد أفكار الرئيس الراحل محمد أنور السادات لتدعيم التعاون بين الجامعة والوزارات والهيئات الحكومية في المشروعات القومية التي تطلب مثل هذا التعاون، والذي تزامن مع بداية عهد السلام في عام 1977.
وقد كان الهدف الأساسي لهذا البرنامج إجراء 14 مشروعاً بحثياً قومياً تشارك فيه جامعة القاهرة ومعهد ماساتشوستس بالإضافة إلى الوزارات المصرية المعنية وتهدف إلى تحليل وتخطيط وإدارة برامج التنمية الهامة في مصر في ظل هدف أرحب لتكوين إطار مؤسسي لهذا البرنامج من خلال إناءش مركز أبحاث مستقل مخصص لهذا الغرض بجامعة القاهرة تحت مسمى " مركز استشارات وبحوث التنمية والتخطيط التكنولوجي ".
ورغم أن المركز لم ينشأ رسمياً إلا في 28/2/1979 بقرار مجلس جامعة القاهرة الذي إعتمده المجلس الأعلى للجامعات بتاريخ 17/5/1979 إلا أن المشروعات البحثية المذكورة بدأت بالفعل في عام 1977 من خلال مقر مؤقت بكلية الهندسة وتحت الإشراف العام لرئيس الجامعة ولجنة تنفيذية، وقد إنتقل المركز إلى موقعه الحالي بالحرم الجامعي في يناير 1980 وقام بإفتتاحه نائب رئيس الوزراء ووزير التخطيط آنذاك، نائباً عن السيد رئيس الجمهورية.
وعلى مدى 30 عاماً قدم المركز المئات من المشروعات والدراسات البحثية وبرامج ودورات التدريب في مجالات هندسة وتخطيط النقل والموارد المائية والصناعة والطاقة والتخطيط العمراني والإتصالات والبيئة والقوى الكهربائية والأشغال العامة والإقتصاد والإدارة والإجتماع والصحة العامة، هذا وقد بلغ عدد المشروعات التعاقدية البحثية والإستشارية ما يقارب 1050مشروعاً وعدد دورات التدريب حوالى 525 دورة وذلك حتى نهاية العام المالى 2014/2015، وقد لعب المركز دوراً أساسياً وشارك في وضع السياسات القومية في كافة هذه المجالات والتخطيط لها ووضع الحلول لمشاكلها، كما نظم المركز العديد من الندوات والمؤتمرات والدورات التدريبية.
وتتضح أهمية الدور المحوري الذي لعبه ولا يزال يلعبه المركز في ربط الجامعة بالصناعة وبأجهزة الدولة التنفيذية من عدد المسئولين المرموقين بالدولة الذين تعاقبوا على عضوية مجلس إدارته، وفي حجم التعاقدات السنوية الذي تجاوز خلال العام المالي المنصرم 2013/2014 ما يجاوز ثلاثة مليون ستمائة ستة وأربعون ألف ثلاثمائة جنيه، وفي إرتباط إسمه بالتطوير والتصنيع المحلي لمعدات وخطوط الإنتاج وتوطين التكنولوجيا المتقدمة في قطاعي الصناعة والخدمات، وأخيراً وليس آخراً في تعدد وتنوع الجهات التي إستفادت من خدماته.

رسالة المركز

يعد مركز استشارات وبحوث التنمية والتخطيط التكنولوجي، جامعة القاهرة "الذراع التجاري" لجامعة القاهرة الذي يعبئ ويوظف الملكية الفكرية والمعرفية والقدرات العلمية والبحثية لآعضاء هيئة التدريس والإمكانات والموارد المعملية الهائلة المتوفرة بالجامعة من خلال التعاقدات البحثية والإستشارية وتعاقدات "البحث والتطوير" وبرامج التدريب المتميزة وبناء القدرات، لتفعيل مخاطبة قضايا التنمية بكافة أبعادها التكنولوجية والإقتصادية والإجتماعية من خلال تلك التعاقدات.

أهداف المركز

–  توفير الخدمات الإستشارية للجهات الحكومية ومؤسسات القطاع الخاص في الصناعة والخدمات من أجل المساهمة في تحقيق الأهداف القومية. 
– إتمام المشروعات التعاقدية للبحوث التطبيقية التي تساهم في نقل وتوطين التكنولوجيا المتقدمة ودعم الصناعة والخدمات لرفع القدرة المعرفية التنافسية للجهات المستفيدة.
–  تفعيل دور جامعة القاهرة في تحديث الصناعة والخدمات من خلال إذكاء المعرفة التكنولوجية في التصميم والتشغيل والتحكم والإدارة.
–  دعم الصناعات الصغيرة والمتوسطة من خلال تقديم المشورة الفنية والتصميمات الهندسية ومن خلال تكوين مراكز متخصصة وحضانات تكنولوجية.
–  تقديم منظومة متكاملة ومحدثة من دورات التعليم المستمر لخدمة التحديث التكنولوجي والإداري وتنمية الموارد البشرية لقطاعات الإنتاج والخدمات من الحكومة والقطاع الخاص ومؤسسات المجتمع المهني شاملة جميع المستويات بما في ذلك كوادر الإدارة العليا.
–  تنظيم المؤتمرات والندوات وورش العمل في المجالات ذات الصلة بنشاط المركز.

محاور الأنشطة

–  للمركز أنشطة متعددة في ثلاث محاور: البحث / الإستشارات / التدريب.
–  يعمل مركز استشارات وبحوث التنمية والتخطيط التكنولوجي، جامعة القاهرة كمركز للتميز ينفذ أنشطته عن طريق المشروعات التعاقدية ويؤدي أعماله بفلسفة القطاع الخاص متمتعاً بالإستقلالية ومرونة الإدارة تحت مظلة جامعة القاهرة.
– ويقدم المركز هذه الأنشطة بمحاورها الثلاث على المستوى الدولي والإقليمي والمحلي سواء منفرداً أو بالتعاون مع مراكز البحوث وبيوت الخبرة القومية أو الدولية الأخرى من خلال التعاقدات المشتركة أو التعاقد من الباطن.